Sampler Quilt?

Well, I finally decided to dive in to my latest batch of solids from Pink Chalk Fabric’s solid club. I originally considered a solids only quilt, but I chickened out. Instead I’ve decided to fussy cut some of the tea cups and teapots from Melody Miller’s Ruby Star Rising line. I bought a book of 200 quilt blocks last year which I’ve never felt confident enough to use. Well after looking through Flickr and seeing some of the gorgeous blocks there I had to tell myself to suck it up and give it a shot.

The pieces were tiny, and it took absolute ages to press. I’m very impatient and these blocks leave me with no other option than to be patient, so they’re probably quite a good change of pace. Please ignore the icky ironing board cover, I know I should do something about it and make a pretty one but my list of projects is just far too long right now.

Below is the first one I finished. It was really quite straightforward, but fiddly. My main issue is that it’s just so tiny!

Well after that I got a bit full of my self and tried to make another one. Unfortunately it involved a few more half square triangles and they didn’t do a very good job of meeting. It was obviously their fault and not mine!

Although the second block is a little off, I’m still quite fond of it as it reminds me of Jem and the Holograms. Because it’s all triangular and pinky purple. Obviously…

So now I just need to decide whether I should carry on and make a sampler quilt out of the rest of the solids and the tea fabric or not.

2 thoughts on “Sampler Quilt?

    • Thank you Mandy! I’ve since discovered that samplers seem to also be stupidly addictive. They’re so fun to put together with always some different colour combination or layout to make.

Leave a Reply

