Not a new project

A couple of months ago I was browsing through the Moda Bake Shop and came across Hexagon Park by Lynne of Lily’s Quilt. I fell in love with the pattern. It had what I wanted at the time: hexagons and a winter feel. Well, being October and snow forecast to hit us in Edinburgh by the end of the month I figured it was time to have a wintery quilt.

I feel a bit bad about this quilt for two reasons. Firstly, I’m using Sherbit Pips just like Lynne used. I generally don’t like using the same fabrics used in patterns because I want to create something of my own even if using somebody else’s instructions. Secondly, ignoring the sashing, I’m only using one fabric range. So ultimately I’m not putting much of my own creativity into this quilt at all.

But boo to that, I’m not going to let it bother me because the quilt Lynne created was just perfect and exactly what I’m after right now.

Also, because I bought the fabric a couple of months ago exactly for this project I’m not counting it as a new project (which I’m currently banned from). See, thinking about a project means it has started!

I’m hoping to have it ready for just before Christmas so it can live on the spare bed in time for my friend Hannah’s visit.

 

Leave a Reply

