Swaps and a winter quilt

It’s been a hectic mad dash of sewing deadlines these last few weeks. I’ve both sent and received my Brit Quilt Swap, made a purse for the boyfriend’s mum for Christmas, finished a winter quilt top, finished hand quilting my HST quilt, finished one bag for a friend’s sister-in-law, almost finished a bag for my sister-in-law, started a purse for my Grandma, and have been plotting cushions to make for my friend Hannah’s Christmas present. Phew, that’s a lot to do in a short time, and unfortunately I didn’t photograph all of them.

I made my Brit Quilt Swap partner a half Dresden Plate cushion.

It was my first ever Dresden Plate and I really loved making it. It’s such a gorgeous design to play with, and I’m now starting to plan my own Dresden cushion. I used some solids and a bit of Echino fabric in the cushion.

Elizabeth Anne over at Biffs Funky Scrappy Blog made the below cushion for me, and oh I definitely love it!

I wanted something festive and she definitely delivered! Can you see the gorgeous snowflakes quilted in to the white? I’m in love with those snowflakes! Also, those hexies at the bottom are just gorgeous. I love hexies (who doesn’t?) and these are perfect. Finally, check out those moden trees on the left. Oh it’s all perfect. I haven’t taken a picture of the back, but I’m the very lucky owner of a cushion backed with Echino! So I can use the cushion all year round. This swap has definitely been a total success. All the participates were really talented, and it forced me to up my game and put more attention and detail into the cushion that I normally do when it’s just for myself. I think that’s one of my favourite things about swaps – they really force me to be my best and try new techniques and designs. Ha who am I kidding? I also love to receive gorgeous items and loot!

Now for my winter quilt

The quilt top for this is finally finished. I ran out of Sherbet Pips so had to improvise and so popped three squares of Anna Maria Horner’s Innocent Crush on the top border. I think they work quilt well with the Pips and don’t look too obvious. Now I just need to wait for some more batting to arrive so I can get on with the quilting. I’m really hoping to get it done before Hannah arrives for Christmas, but that’s really pushing it.

Hopefully I’ll be able to put up some more photos soon. I’ve still got my HST quilt and some bags to show you. Fingers crossed I can get some more sewing done soon as I’ve been knocked down with my asthma for the past week. Inability to breathe does not mix well with all the dust and fluff that kicks up from sewing.

One thought on “Swaps and a winter quilt

Leave a Reply

