2012 and more sewing

I managed to finish the Sherbet Pips quilt before my Christmas deadline! I finished it on the 17th, which was pushing it a little close to the deadline I set myself. Still, I was very happy with the results. I now have a distinctly wintery quilt, which currently lives on the spare bed. The quilt is backed using the fabric from the final Pink Chalk Fabric’s Solid Club delivery. I free motion quilted it, and the binding is made up using the scraps left over from the backing. I’m really happy with the finished look and it’s such a fun design to put together. If you want to try it you can find it here. I may try it again some day, perhaps as a present. I like being able to just pick up a layer cake and knock it all together. Cutting out is my least favourite part of putting a quilt together, so I love pre-cuts.

Now for my 2012 sewing, which I started yesterday.

My first project was a dresden plate cushion using some of Denyse Schmidt’s Hope Valley fabric. When I first saw Hope Valley I just couldn’t see the appeal, but after seeing what other people have done with them I slowly began to fall for the line. Luckily I managed to get hold of some before they disappear.

The non-Hope Valley fabric is from a Pink Chalk Fabrics solid club shipment (what will I do now the club has been disbanded!). I also hand quilted inside and around the dresden plate.

The cushion spurred me on to use the rest of my Hope Valley fabrics, along with the rest of the November solids club shipment. I cut them all in to 4.5inch squares and put together the below design:

It should be around 60inx60in by the time it’s all sewn together. I still have a nice little pile of 4.5in squares still left over, so they’ll be saved for a future project.

I’ve also cut out some Far Far Away II and III for a grey, blue and orange Heather Ross dresden plate. Oh dear, I’ve discovered a new addiction in dresden plates!

Hopefully I’ll be able to keep up this momentum throughout the year.

2 thoughts on “2012 and more sewing

Leave a Reply

