Fabric…oh my

I popped in to John Lewis this morning to pick up some purple fabric for the Somewhere Over the Rainbow Charm Swap. I’ve really struggled to find any purple fabric in the UK. I did come across some Tufted Tweets, but I have used a lot of that already in the past year or so. I still love Tufted Tweets, I just wanted something different. Even in John Lewis I only found one purple fabric

This is Autumn Medley in Grape by Martha Negley. The next thing for me to do this weekend is chop it in to 56 5inch squares.

Unfortunately, having to go in to John Lewis to pick up the above fabric meant that I bumped in to their sale. Oh dear. I wasn’t expecting it as I thought it had probably finished, but when I got to the haberdashery and saw all the clearance labels on Amy Butler and Joel Dewberry I did get somewhat over excited. I started picking up bolts and putting them down. I managed to settle on one metre of the damask below, and two metres of the other fabric. I could have easily picked up more, but I have bills to pay and I’ve already spent a crazy amount of fabric this month. The sale fabric was £5.10 per metre. You can’t argue with results!

Speaking of spending two much on fabric, this arrived once I got back from town

It’s my shipment from The Intrepid Thread. But just look what was inside this beautiful packaging!

That’s a half yard bundle of Domestic Bliss, as well as two extra charm squares she added in for free and a thank you card! How wonderful and lovely is that! Oh I’ve found another favourite fabric shop.

There’s still one more package to arrive from Fabricworm. I think I may have gone fabric crazy this month…

In other news, I have joined a bee for the year. My first bee! It’s called The 99 and it’s based on blocks from Modern Blocks. I’m really looking forward to this new experience and I hope it pushes me to improve just as the swaps from 2011 have. My month isn’t until November so I’ve got plenty of time to decide on a block.

One thought on “Fabric…oh my

Leave a Reply

